Sacramento, Calif.—The American Institute of Architects, California Council announces the recipients of the 4thd annual Residential Design Awards program.

This year, more than 100 architects and architecture firms submitted entries. After much deliberation and debate they culminated it down to seven. This year’s jury found the range of submittals particularly interesting—from affordable and multi-family housing, to single family dwellings. And, as sustainability and resource-efficiency metrics were required for each entry that came up in deliberations as well. The jury members included Karla Greer, AIA of Lake | Flato; Nick Noyes of Nick Noyes Architecture, and Rob Quigley, FAIA of Rob Wellington Quigley, FAIA.

The jurors concentrated on quality gestures, interesting resolutions, and livable, humanizing floor plans, and believe the final 7 demonstrate a well-rounded example of these qualities. 3 received honor awards; 4 merit. All recipients have been notified.

To view the gallery, click here.
The 2015 Design Awards Celebration is happening Sept. 24th at California College of the Arts. For more information, or to attend, click here.


Sansome and Broadway Family Housing, Mithun | Solomon

See-Through House, Koning Eizenberg Architecture

Fieldhouse, John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects


Rene Cazenave Apartments, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

Buena Vista Residence, gb | architecture + design

Mill Valley Courtyard Residence, Aidlin Darling Design

Blodgett-Calvin Residence, Fung + Blatt Architects

Since 1982, the AIACC has celebrated outstanding architecture through the Design Awards program. The Residential Design Awards program proudly recognizes excellence in architecture and continues to celebrate the value of good design.

For more information or to schedule an interview, contact Shannon Calder at 916.642.1718.

Skip to content