Sacramento, Calif.—American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIACC), proudly announces the 2018 Residential Design Award Recipients—

On August 27, four jurors convened in San Francisco to deliberate, discuss and cull down a cadre of projects—the best of California’s best—in residential design. The jurors had a difficult job ahead of them, but they succeeded in determining the projects they believed best exemplified the spirit of the state, and the sophistication and thoughtful homes. Intense discussion ensued as they narrowed the list with accurate, careful and extreme specificity.

This year’s jury was comprised of dynamic voices within the architecture world including Mark English, AIA, Lorcan O’Herlihy, FAIA, Jonathan Segal, FAIA, and Erin Sterling Lewis, AIA.  These four worked used their own set of skill and expertise to analyze how the residential programs submitted work at their best and still encompass the proverbial definition of high design. Some submissions were opulent in nature with obvious large budgets, others were narrowly stretched and still maintained mastery and functionality for the affordable housing dweller.

They picked a range within the 10 ultimately chosen—from affordable housing, single-family, to student housing and historic preservation. One juror commented. “It is great to see multiple types of projects attacked in California.  It’s great to see such worthy statements that can reach beyond the opulent single-family residence.” The jury was often split and sometimes unanimous on these “worthy” projects that could be defined as real game changers within the profession. They were all looking for the exceptionally smart—and looking also to residences that can solve problems within the community as well as be aesthetically pleasing.

Following is a list of the for projects awarded. However, like every architect and every structure, there is a unique story. To find out more or to schedule an interview, contact Shannon Calder at 916.642.1718.



Sentinel Ridge | Field Architecture

Waverley | Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects



388 Fulton | David Baker Architects

Five88 | David Baker Architects

High Horse Ranch | KieranTimberlake

Lichen House | Schwartz and Architecture

Rear Window House | Edward Ogosta Architecture

Silvertop | Bestor Architecture

Skyline House | Terry & Terry Architecture

UCSB San Joaquin Housing | Kevin Daly Architects



Since 1982, the AIACC has celebrated outstanding architecture through the Design Awards program. The Residential Design Awards program proudly recognizes excellence in architecture and continues to celebrate the value of good design.


For more information or to schedule an interview, contact Shannon Calder at 916.642.1718.



The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California.  Founded in 1944, The AIACC’s mission supports architects in their endeavors to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. Today, The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit


Skip to content