American Institute of Architects, California Council, Recognizes Dedicated Professionals

Sacramento, Calif.—Not only have the best and the brightest minds been recognized, but those who support architects in the early stages of their career. The 3rd Annual Academy of Emerging Professionals Awards Program jury met this week to deliberate all of the many extraordinary candidates who submitted.

The Chapter Award went to AIA Los Angeles. The jury noted how well this chapter manages programs and events and how their approaches and inclusions of the Emerging Professional in several programs is top notch.

The Associate Award went to Wesley Wong of AIA San Francisco. The jury voted unanimously to award this candidate for several reasons—such as his positive attitude as well as his ability to bring people together who might not otherwise collaborate. He has dedicated hours of time to the Emerging Professionals.

Two Educator Awards went to Doug Noble, FAIA and Karen Kensek, Assoc. AIA for their contributions to NotLY (Not Licensed Yet. A program designed to prepare the architecture student for licensure, FREE OF CHARGE.) This program has been offered at USC’s School of Architecture for more than seven years and the mission has always been simple: “We have no secret motive. We just want people to get licensed,” wrote Noble in a brief description regarding Architect Registration Exam (ARE) assistance.

When it comes to mentorship, firms play a key role in facilitating successful relationships. Both KTGY and Altoon Partners received Firm Award. KTGY was recognized for their strong portfolio of resources available to Emerging Professionals. Altoon was noted as “having a very pervasive approach, and always looking for opportunities to engage EPs into all areas of practice.”

Lauren Amador, currently attending Woodbury University, received the Student Award. “Lauren’s tenure as the AIAS Chapter President for AIAS Woodbury University has made her an expert on the issues facing students and EPs.” Jurors noted she has a strong work ethic and dedication to AIAS.

The Young Architect Award was particularly difficult for this jury as so many strong candidates were among the submittals. Ian Merker, AIA, was noticed for his various advocacies not only within the EP group, but architecture at large. Matthew Geaman, AIA San Diego President, was among the finalists for his large portfolio of contributions as well. He was instrumental in making architecture a focus in the AIA San Diego Mayoral Debate, actively promoting “Archtoberfest”—a month-long program designed to elevate the value of design in public perception, and revitalized the local design community.

The award, however, went to Stephanie Silkwood,AIA for her strong leadership, and influential presence in assisting young architects in the licensure process. Silkwood is working nationally to make the licensing process more comprehensive. She has been consistently and continually proactive in setting up EP events, ARE study groups, and Intern Development Program (IDP) seminars. In 2013 Silkwood received the AIACC Presidential Citation, and continues to be actively involved not only with her local architectural community, but the state and national as well.

All recipients will be recognized Oct. 17 in San Jose at AIACC Board of Directors Annual Meeting.

For more information, please contact Shannon Calder 916-642-1718.

Skip to content