Contact: Shannon Calder                                                   FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Communications Director

(916) 642-1718




American Institute of Architects elevates members to College of Fellows


Sacramento, Calif.— The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is elevating 116 member-architects to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession, and 22 of them are from California.


The fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following areas:


Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession;

Promoted the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training or practice;

Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA or other related professional organizations; or

Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment.


Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. This year’s jury included Chair Paul Mankins, FAIA, Chair Substancearchitecture; Mary A. Burke, FAIA, Burke Design & Architecture PLLC; Philip Castillo, FAIA, Jahn; Mary Johnston, FAIA, Johnston Architects, LLC; Nancy Rogo Trainer, FAIA, Drexel University; Steven Spurlock, FAIA, Quinn Evans Architects and Anna Wu, FAIA, University of North Carolina, Durham, North Carolina


The newly elevated California members are listed below. For complete list, details, and images, visit the fellows directory.


Javier Arizmendi, FAIA                    AIA San Francisco

Barbara H. Flammang, FAIA         AIA Los Angeles

Avi Grigorescu, FAIA                       AIA Los Angeles

Eric Haas, FAIA                                  AIA Los Angeles

Kristi Hanson, FAIA                          AIA California Desert

Sara Meeker Jensen, FAIA            AIA Los Angeles

John E. Kaliski, FAIA                        AIA Los Angeles

Calvin Kam, FAIA                              AIA San Francisco

Kang Kiang, FAIA                              AIA San Francisco

Karin J. Liljegren, FAIA                    AIA Los Angeles

Yu-Ngok Lo, FAIA                              AIA Los Angeles

Neal S. Matsuno, FAIA                   AIA Los Angeles

Alix Walsh O’Brien, FAIA               AIA Los Angeles

Mark Quattrocchi, FAIA                 AIA Redwood Empire

Neal J.Z. Schwartz, FAIA                AIA San Francisco

Vijay K Sehgal, FAIA                         AIA Pasadena Foothill

Roger Sherman, FAIA                      AIA Los Angeles

James E. Silcott, FAIA                      AIA Los Angeles

Pauline M Souza, FAIA                   AIA San Francisco

Warren Techentin, FAIA                AIA Los Angeles

Mario J Violich, FAIA                       AIA Los Angeles

Christopher S. Wasney, FAIA       AIA Santa Clara Valley



For more information, please contact, 916-642-1718.




The AIA California represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California.  Founded in 1944, The AIACC’s mission supports architects in their endeavors to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. Today, The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Skip to content