Contact: Shannon Calder                                                       FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Director of Communications

(916) 642-1718



Allison Grace Williams, FAIA, accepts humanitarian award


SACRAMENTO, Calif.—The American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIACC), recognized Allison Williams, FAIA, as the 2018 Norma Sklarek Award Recipient.

This marks the fifth year since the award’s inception, given in honor of the late Norma Sklarek, FAIA, whose name is associated with a litany of firsts, including the first African-American woman to become a member of the AIA (1959), and the first African-American woman to become a Fellow of the AIA (1980), is conferred by the AIACC Board of Directors on an architect in recognition of their social responsibility. The purpose of the award is to publicly recognize an architect making significant humanitarian contributions to society.

Williams has a vast international portfolio of large scale work in ranging from civic, research and technology, to academic and beyond. Former recipient of the award and member of the jury for this year’s selection, Christopher Downey, AIA, said, “If ever there has been an architect to walk behind and fill the shoes of Norma Sklarek, FAIA, it is Ms. Allison Williams, FAIA. Her work at the top of the elite corporate firms of California has left its mark on the profession and the fabric of our cities and state. Not limited to the state of California, her work has left its impression upon the fabric of cities and campuses across America and around the globe.

Paul W. Welch, Jr., former Executive Vice President of the AIACC, presented the award to Williams at the October 4 Awards Celebration in San Francisco. “She has become known for many things in her 38 years of practice,” he said, “But it’s not just her innovative designs. She leads by example and has combined design and leadership and mentored and inspired many.”

Williams has practiced as a design leader and principal with SOMPerkins + Will, and  AECOM, and founded AGWms_studio in 2017.


Skip to content