California Building Standards Commission

Active Participants in the Regulator Process to Develop Code
The CA Building Standards Commission sponsors six Code Advocacy Committees. Members of the committees are selected for their expertise and for a balance of interests; the following AIA CA members serve on each of these:

Accessibility Committee – Access 

  • Architect Rep/Chair – Jay Whisenant, AIA, CCS
  • Disability Access Advocate – Cognitive Impairment – Bill Zellmer, AIA, CASp

Building, Fire, and Other Committee – BFO

  • Architect Rep/CHair – Steve Winkel, FAIA, PE
  • Disability Access Advocate – Dawn Anderson, AIA, CASp

Green Building Committee – Green

  • Architect Rep – Sharon Refvem, FAIA
  • Ex-Officio – UC OP – Ellen Owen, AIA

Health Facilities Committee – HF

  • Chair/Acute Care Hospital Representative – Bill Zellmer, AIA, CASp
  • Architect Rep – David Field, AIA, CASp

Plumbing, Electrical, Mechanical and Energy Committee – PEME

  • Architect Rep – Jay Hyde, AIA, CSI

Structural Design/Lateral Forces Committee – SD/LF

Architect Rep – Gary McGavin, AIA

Skip to content