Lorcan O’Herlihy, FAIA, is the 2023 Maybeck Award Recipient

A practitioner others learn from, the architect continually realizes a new expression of architecture that addresses context.
Photo: Colin Lenton

(Sacramento, CA)Lorcan O’Herlihy, FAIA, who rooted his firm Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects [LOHA] in Los Angeles, established a second office in Detroit, and crossed the Atlantic to realize architecture in his father’s country, Ireland, has been announced as AIA California’s 2023 Maybeck Award recipient.

Named for Bernard Ralph Maybeck, the California architect who has influenced designers for over a century, the award recognizes outstanding achievement in architectural design as expressed in a body of work produced by an individual architect over a period of at least 10 years.

Image: Sycamore953. Photo: John Linden

O’Herlihy was touted by the 2023 Maybeck Awards Jury for his influence, artistry, and integration of the latter in shelter which expresses the architect’s belief in social equity.

“Lorcan O’Herlihy, FAIA, combines arresting design with dignity of mission. He is a practitioner others learn from,” noted the Jury in awarding O’Herlihy the highest design award the AIA California bestows on an individual architect. “He brings a continuous source of inventivenessHow do we make a world where we can celebrate/make it a worthwhile place to be?”

“His work is highly relevant, meticulously designed and his sense of social responsibility is truly admirable,” the Jury continued.

Formosa1140. Photo: Lawrence Anderson

O’Herlihy’s unique articulation of design excellence and his use of it as a tool to enrich the social fabric is widely recognized by his peers. “As an architect who creates with an unmatched sensitivity, precision and grace, Lorcan is a remarkable example of the positive impact our field can have on the built environment,” said Tom Kundig, FAIA, in support of O’Herlihy being recognized with the Maybeck.

In accepting the 2023 Maybeck Award, O’Herlihy said, “I’m deeply honored to receive this wonderful award. This journey to build a practice, explore ideas and to embrace Architecture as a catalyst for change has been my dream since I was a very young architect. It is my hope to continue/advance our commitment to elevating the human condition, by building architecture rooted in context that is committed to both artistry and social equity.”

Image: Sandi Simon Center for Dance. Photo: Eric Staudenmaier

Since founding his firm Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects [LOHA] in 1994, O’Herlihy has utilized architecture as a catalyst of change to shape and enrich the complex, urban landscape of the contemporary city. His work is guided by a conscious understanding that architecture operates within a layered context of political, developmental, environmental, and social structures.

The 2023 Maybeck Award jury was comprised of: Betsy del Monte, FAIA – Principal Consultant, Cameron MacAllister Group; Ed Ogosta, AIA – Principal of Edward Ogosta Architecture; Julian Palacio, AIA NCARB LEED AP – Principal of JPAS, Assistant Professor Adjunct, Irwin S. Chanin School of Architecture of The Cooper Union; Mary Ann Schicketanz, AIA – Founder and Principal of Studio Schicketanz; and Z Smith, Ph.D., FAIA, LEED Fellow, WELL AP – Principal | Director of Sustainability & Performance – Eskew Dumez Ripple.

About the American Institute of Architects California (AIA California)
AIA California is dedicated to serving its members, and uniting all architecture professionals in the design of a more just, equitable, and resilient future through advocacy, education, and political action. It celebrates more than 75 years of service and, today, is composed of more than 11,000 members across the state.

— End —

Skip to content