Recipients of 2023 AIA CA Residential Design Awards Announced

Announcement made as California continues to demonstrate new possibilities for housing at a time of great need.

Sacramento, California—Sixteen residential architecture projects—ranging in scale from Accessory Dwelling Units (ADUs) to multifamily and affordable housing projects—were recognized with American Institute of Architects California (AIA CA) Awards for 2023, in November.

Though located in an array of locations, Santa Ana to Sonoma, each was representative of the organization’s and its member architects’ goal: to embed sustainability benchmarks in all work and build a decarbonized future.

AIA CA Residential Design Awards recipients are awarded based on design excellence. At the same time, each recipient must demonstrate effective performance/sustainability strategies in energy, water, materials, health, ecology, and resilience. The highest awards tier, the Climate Action award, must meet demanding criteria and reduce carbon impacts in multiple ways.

“For more than a century, California has contributed meaningful advances to the housing typology. Today, AIA California members continue to lead the way in residential architecture,” said AIA California President Scott Gaudineer, AIA.

The 2023 AIA Residential Design Awards were awarded across four different levels: From highest they are: the Climate Action Awards (2); Honor Awards (4); Merit Awards (7); and Special Commendations for specific areas of attainment as outlined in the AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence (3). Each achieved varied sustainability benchmarks; projects that did not reach minimum standards in California were not considered for awards.

A jury of three reviewed all submissions to distinguish the recipients:

  • Paul Mankins, FAIA – Founder, Substance Architecture; Professor of Practice in Architecture, Iowa State University College of Design
  • Pauline Souza, FAIA – Director of Sustainability and Lead, K-12 and Community Studio, WRNS
  • William Taylor, FAIA – Principal, StreetStudioLA; Founding Director, Los Angeles Institute of Architecture and Design.

See a complete list of recipients below. For images of winners, comments from the jury on each project, and more, click here.

Climate Action Awards
(In parallel to aesthetic design considerations, design at minimum, explicitly incorporates effective performance/sustainability strategies in multiple areas—energy, water, materials, health, ecology, resilience.)

Casa Adelante 2060 Folsom (San Francisco, CA, California)
Architect: Mithun in collaboration with Y.A. Studio, associate architect
Laurel Hills Residence (Los Angeles, CA)
Architect: Assembledge+

Honor Awards
(In parallel to aesthetic design considerations, each project at least explicitly incorporates performance/sustainability principles, and does so *effectively* in at least one area—from designing for Energy Efficiency to designing for Discovery. For a complete list, visit AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence.)

Evelyn ADU (Albany, CA)
Architect: 3R Studio
Madrone Ridge (Sonoma County, CA)
Architect: Field Architecture
Ribera Road (Carmel, CA)
Architect: Ehrlich Yanai Rhee Chaney Architects
Santa Ana Arts Collective (Santa Ana, California)
Architect: Studio One Eleven

Merit Awards
(In parallel to aesthetic design considerations, each recipient was at least minimally compliant—by California standards–with basic but complete performance/sustainability considerations…)

666 Oak (San Francisco, CA)
Architect: Kennerly Architecture & Planning, Inc
House Stepping Down A Hill (Los Angeles, CA)
Architect: Bestor Architecture
Owl House (Petaluma, CA)
Architect: MAD Architecture/ Mary Dooley, AIA
Manhattan Beach House (Manhattan Beach, CA)
Architect: Montalba Architects / David Montalba, FAIA, SIA, LEED AP
Moss Rock (Healdsburg, CA)
Architect: Swatt Miers Architects, Robert Swatt, FAIA
Sunset Residence (Los Angeles, CA)
Architect: Griffin Enright Architects
Tahanan Supportive Housing (San Francisco, CA)
Architect: David Baker Architects

Special Commendations
(Recognized by the jury for design that excelled specifically in one of the ten principles as outlined in the AIA Framework for Design Excellence)

Design for Ecosystems
Sea Ranch Meadow II (The Sea Ranch, California)
Architect: Turnbull Griffin Haesloop

Design for Energy
Las Flores Apartments (Santa Monica, CA)
DE Architects AIA

Design for Resources
Berkeley Way Apartments and Hope Center (Berkeley, CA)
Architect: Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

– end –

Skip to content