2021 AIA CA Residential Award Recipients:
Architecture Association announces the best in Residential Design

Sacramento, Calif.— American Institute of Architects California is proud to officially announce the recipients of the 2021 Residential Design Awards.

This year’s jury included Valery Augustin, Jonathan Feldman, AIA, Stet Sanborn, AIA, Julie Snow, FAIA, Nader Tehrani. As the jury deliberated through nearly 100 projects, they took many aspects of design into consideration. The jury was impressed with the breadth of admissions and the diversity within each program. “Each recipient program had its own incredible moments,” one juror reported. Overall, they were looking to create a theme of what can be done with multi-housing. For example, the award program that thought through three housing structures on a single lot, or the respectable senior housing design. Though opinions and aesthetics varied, all agreed they were searching for exceptional design that represents all that California architecture has to offer.

This year’s Award Celebration will be virtual and available to view December 9.

The following is a list of the projects awarded. A full gallery of winning entries will be available on the website in the near future.


Standford Residence | JENSEN Architects

Redwood House | Jeff Svitak Inc.


Merit & Leading Edge Award

Gramercy Senior Housing | Kevin Daly Architects


Merit Award

Vertical Courtyard House | Montalba Architects

Wonderland | MUTUO

Monterey Co-Living | Warren Techentin Architecture [WTARCH]


Leading Edge Award

Mason on Mariposa | David Baker Architects

Skip to content