California Architects Honored with Prestigious State Award Program

Sacramento, Calif.—The American Institute of Architects, California Council (AIACC), proudly announces this year’s Design Award Recipients—a list honoring a broad range of innovative design.

On Jul. 9 -10, five jurors deliberated between more than 200 entries and narrowed the project list down to 21. The projects range from experimental steel structures to “homes so perfect they invited criticism,” as quoted by one juror.

Jurors included Casey Jones, Deputy Director of the Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations at the U.S. Department of State; Laurie Beckelman of Beckelman + Capalino; Sheila Kennedy, FAIA, Principal of Kennedy & Violich Architecture Ltd.; Jim Jennings, AIA of Jim Jennings Architecture, and Hraztan Zeitlian, AIA, Design Principal and Founder of Struere Architecture. The jury was also accompanied by special sustainability advisor David Kaneda, FAIA.

Deliberations included thoughtful commentary, questions, and debate among the hundreds of projects. They sought out the elements which make a program or structure rise above—the one extra component in design, whether it be surprise or vision or poetry. And sometimes, they pinpointed more than one poignant or clever element, as evidenced in the 10 honor projects and 11 merits they awarded.

“When I look to architects nationwide, I first look to the California architects,” said a juror. It is no secret the bar is set high for California’s architects, and those who belong to the profession should take great pride.

Following is a list of all the recipients, but each have their own unique story—both the firm and the structure. To find out more or to schedule an interview, contact Shannon Calder 916.642.1718.

A full gallery of this year’s recipients will be up soon. A notification will be sent out once it is ready to be viewed.


2015 Honor Awards:


Restore Neighborhoods Los Angeles – Lehrer Architects

Turner Residence – Jensen Architects

UCLA – Adjacent Student and Faculty Housing – Lorcan O’Herlihy

Machine in a Box – LUCE et Studio Architects Inc.

Edison Language Academy – Kevin Daly Architects

Montee Karp Residence – Patrick Tighe Architecture

Star Apartments – Michael Maltzan Architecture

Torr Kaelan – Rob Wellington Quigley, FAIA



The Barbarian Group – Clive Wilkinson Architects


Small Projects:

La Cage Aux Folles – Warren Techentin

Studio Dental – Montalba Architects



2015 Merit Awards


DREAM: shop – Interstice Architects

Octavia Gateway – Stanley Saitowitz | Natoma Architects Inc.

U.S. Coast Guard Waste Water Treatment Facility – Marcy Wong Donn Logan Architects

Resnick Sustainability Institute and Joint Center for Artificial Light – John Friedman Alice Kimm Architects

Pterodactyl – Erin Owen Moss Architects

The North Parker – Jonathan Segal Architect

Hammer Museum John V. Tunney Pedestrian Bridge – Michael Maltzan Architecture

Windhover Contemplative Center – Adlin Darling Design

The Row – Montalba Architects



National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Daniel K. Inouye Regional Center – HOK



The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California. Founded in 1944, The AIACC’s mission supports architects in their endeavors to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. Today, The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Skip to content