American Institute of Architects, California Council Proudly Announces Newest Fellows

Sacramento, Calif.—Feb. 12, 2015—California is home to a significant amount of architectural talent, and this month there is proof in numbers. The 2015 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 147 AIA members to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the profession.  29 of these members were from California.

The 2015 Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the 2015 National AIA Convention and Design Exposition in Atlanta.

The Fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have made a significant contribution to architecture and society and who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession.  Election to fellowship not only recognizes the achievements of architects as individuals, but also their significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level.

The 2015 Jury included: John Castellana (Chair), FAIA, TMP Architecture, Inc.; Steve Crane, FAIA, VCBO; Brian Dougherty, FAIA, Dougherty + Dougherty Architects, LLP; Diane Georgopulos, FAIA, Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency; Mary Katherine Lanzillotta, FAIA, Hartman Cox Architects; Kenneth Schwartz, FAIA, Tulane University and Donald T. Yoshino, FAIA, Yoshino Architecture, PA.

Out of a total AIA membership of over 85,000, there are just over 3,200 distinguished with the honor of fellowship and honorary fellowship. The elevation to fellowship is conferred on architects with at least 10 years of membership in the AIA in one or more of the following nomination categories:

  1. Promoted the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession
  2. Advanced the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training and practice
  3. Coordinated the building industry and the profession of architecture through leadership in the AIA or other related professional organizations
  4. Advanced the living standards of people through an improved environment
  5. Made the profession of ever-increasing service to society


2015 California Fellows:

Mr. David D. Alpert, FAIA, LEED AP, MBA Berkeley
Ms. Pamela Anderson-Brule, FAIA San Jose
Mr. Glenn E. Bauer, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Gail Peter Borden, FAIA, NCARB Los Angeles
Mr. Clifford B. Curry, FAIA Bend
Mr. Kevin J. deFreitas, FAIA San Diego
Mr. Neil M. Denari, FAIA Los Angeles
David M. Diamond, FAIA San Francisco
  1. Stuart Eckblad, FAIA
San Francisco
Ms. Julie Eizenberg, FAIA Santa Monica
Margaret P. Griffin, FAIA Los Angeles
Ms. Sharon Johnston, FAIA Los Angeles
Christ J. Kamages, FAIA San Rafael
Janis Kent, FAIA Long Beach
Mr. Arnold Lee Lerner, FAIA San Francisco
Ms. Jeanne E. MacLeamy, FAIA Novato
Mr. Kapil Malik, FAIA Los Angeles
Ms. Diane E. McLean, FAIA Santa Ana
Mr. Gregory R. Mottola, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Robert L. Ooley, FAIA Santa Barbara
Ms. Joyce K. Polhamus, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Richard R. Pugh, FAIA Glendale
Mr. William B. Roger, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. William J. Schmalz, FAIA Los Angeles
Mr. Adam M. Shalleck, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Cory M. Ticktin, FAIA Shanghai
Mr. Joel A. Tomei, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Alyosha G. Verzhbinsky, FAIA San Francisco
Mr. Jonathan R. Ward, FAIA Los Angeles

If you’d like to view the complete list detailed with further information and photos, follow the link below:

For more information, contact Shannon Calder at 916.642.1718.



The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California. Founded in 1944, The AIACC’s mission supports architects in their endeavors to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. Today, The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Skip to content