Contact: Shannon Calder
Communications Director
(916) 642-1718

California Architects Honored with Residential Design Awards

Sacramento, Calif.— American Institute of Architects California is proud to officially announce the recipients of the 2020 Residential Design Awards.

This year’s jury included Kai Uwe Bergmann, FAIA; Deborah Berke, FAIA; Renee Chow, FAIA; Lance Hosey, FAIA, and Rebecca Rudolph, AIA. As the jury deliberated through nearly 100 projects, they took many aspects of design into consideration. Who does this project serve? How strident are the sustainability and resiliency goals met? Though opinions and aesthetics varied, all agreed they were searching for exceptional design that represents all that California architecture has to offer.

This year’s Award Celebration will be virtual and available to view December 4.

The following is a list of the projects awarded. A full gallery of winning entries will be available on the website in the near future.


Honor and Leading Edge Award:

222 Taylor

David Baker Architects


Honor Awards:


Field Architecture


Walk-Street House

ras-a studio


Merit Awards:

Edwin M. Lee Apartments

Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects


901 Fairfax

Paulett Taggart Architects/David Baker Architects


The Continental

Jonathan Segal, FAIA



MAD / Gruen Associates


High Desert Retreat

Aidlin Darling Design



XTEN Architecture



Turnbull Griffin Haesloop





Skip to content