Contact: Shannon Calder                                                        FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Director of Communications

(916) 642-1718




American Institute of Architects elevates members to College of Fellows


SACRAMENTO, Calif.—February 23, 2018—The 2018 Jury of Fellows from the American Institute of Architects (AIA) elevated 152 member-architects to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made significant contributions to the architecture profession. The fellows will be honored at a ceremony on June 22 at the AIA Conference on Architecture 2018 in New York City.

The fellowship program was developed to elevate those architects who have achieved a standard of excellence in the profession and made a significant contribution to architecture and society on a national level. Prospective candidates must have at least 10 years of AIA membership and demonstrated influence in at least one of the following categories:

The stringent requirements result in only three percent of the AIA’s more than 91,000 members being recognized as fellows. Currently, there are 3,425 living fellows globally.

Fellows are selected by a seven-member Jury of Fellows. This year’s jury included Karen Nichols, FAIA (Chair), Michael Graves Architecture & Design; Peter Bardwell, FAIA, Bardwell + Associates, LLC; Mary A. Burke, FAIA, Burke Design and Architecture PLLC; Philip Castillo, FAIA, JAHN; Mary P. Cox, FAIA, Virginia Commonwealth University; Paul Mankins, FAIA, Substance architecture and David Messersmith, FAIA, University of Texas.
Complete details and images are available on the AIA’s website.

The California list includes:

Leigh Christy, FAIA  AIA Los Angeles
Joseph Coriaty, FAIA  AIA Los Angeles
Andrew M. Cupples, FAIA  AIA Los Angeles
Laura Hartman, FAIA  AIA East Bay
James House, FAIA  AIA Los Angeles
Mark Jensen, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Emily Marthinsen, FAIA  AIA East Bay
Suzanne Napier, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Christopher Noll, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Kenneth Radtkey, FAIA  AIA Santa Barbara
Sharon Refvem, FAIA  AIA Santa Clara Valley/Silicon Valley
Zigmund Rubel, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Rosa Sheng, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Eric Tomich, FAIA  AIA San Francisco
Sean Towne, FAIA AIA San Diego
Ingalill Wahlroos-Ritter, FAIA  AIA Los Angeles



The AIACC represents the interests of more than 11,000 architects and allied professionals in California.  Founded in 1944, The AIACC’s mission supports architects in their endeavors to improve the quality of life for all Californians by creating more livable communities, sustainable designs and quality work environments. Today, The AIACC is the largest component of the national AIA organization. For more information, visit

Skip to content